The Southeastern Wisconsin Coastal Resilience project will foster a collaborative network of partners that address coastal hazards in southeastern Wisconsin, including local counties and municipalities, state agencies, federal agencies, and state workgroups and associations.


Local Partners 

The southeastern Wisconsin region consists of four counties and 22 municipalities that have Lake Michigan coastline. This interactive map gives an overview of these coastal communities.

Ozaukee County
Belgium, Port Washington (town), Port Washington (city), Grafton, Mequon

Milwaukee County
Bayside, Fox Point, Whitefish Bay, Shorewood, Milwaukee, St. Francis, Cudahy, South Milwaukee, Oak Creek

Racine County
Caledonia, Wind Point, North Bay, Racine, Mount Pleasant

Kenosha County
Somers, Kenosha, Pleasant Prairie

All of these counties and municipalities have been invited to participate in the community of practice, conduct resilience self-assessment and guided assessment exercises, and develop and implement local resilience projects. For more information on how these communities are working on building coastal resilience, see Local Initiatives.


State Partners 

State agencies with a stake in helping coastal communities respond to coastal hazards will participate in the community of practice.


Federal Partners 


State Workgroups and Association Partners 

Workgroups and associations composed of coastal stakeholders will be engaged in the community of practice and in the development of resilience resources. With their broad reach, these groups will also be critical in disseminating resilience resources and information to stakeholders across the state and Great Lakes region.